Thu. Aug 5th, 2021

Prime Minister Narendra Modi: The 16th Pravasi Bharatiya Divas Convention, is being organized on 9th January 2021, despite the ongoing Covid pandemic. The theme of 16th Pravasi Bharatiya Divas Convention 2021 is “Contributing to the initiative Aatmanirbhar Bharat”.

Pravasi Bharatiya Divas (PBD) Convention is the flagship event of the Ministry of External Affairs and provides an important and effective platform to engage and connect with the overseas Indians. In view of the sentiments of our vibrant diaspora community.

PBD Convention will have three segments, it will be inaugurated by Honorable Prime Minister Narendra Modi and will feature a keynote address by the Chief Guest, H.E. Mr Chandrikapersad Santokhi, Hon’ble President of the Republic of Suriname. The winners of the online Bharat ko Janiye Quiz for the youth will also be announced.

The Inaugural session will be followed by the two Plenary sessions. The first Inaugural Plenary session on Role of Diaspora in Aatmanirbhar Bharat will feature addresses by External Affairs Minister and Commerce and Industry Minister while the second Plenary on Facing Post Covid Challenges – Scenario in Health, Economy, Social and International Relations, will be addressed by Minister of Health and Minister of State for External Affairs.

The names of the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awardees for 2020-21 will also be announced by our President Ram Nath Kovind. Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards are conferred to select Indian diaspora members to recognize their achievements and honour their contributions to various fields, both in India and abroad.

The Youth Pravasi Bharatiya Divas will also be celebrated virtually on the theme “Bringing together Young Achievers from India and Indian Diaspora” on 8th January 2021 and will be anchored by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. The Special Guest for the event is H.E. Ms Priyanca Radhakrishnan, Minister for Community & Voluntary Sector of New Zealand.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *